Executive Committee of Catholic Biblical Federation

13 Apr 2022

On 12 April an online meeting was held of the Executive Committee of the Catholic Biblical Federation (CBF) attended by Monsignor Juan Usma, Head of the Western Section of the PCPCU, who is responsible for collaboration in the diffusion of the Bible. The Committee’s agenda included the extension of the appointment of its members due to the one‒year postponement of its plenary meeting due to the healthcare situation.

Established in 1969, on the initiative of the then President of the Secretariat for Christian Unity, Cardinal Augustin Bea, since its foundation the CBF has maintained contact with the Holy See through the PCPCU, whose representative is an ex officio member of the Executive Committee.  The CBF currently has 348 members in 156 countries. Its work involves the biblical dimension of pastoral care, inspired by Chapter 6 of the Dogmatic Constitution Dei Verbum: “Sacred Scripture in the Life of the Church”. The Executive Committee is the governing body of the CBF between plenary assemblies.

The Executive Committee comprises four ex officio members: Cardinal Luis Tagle, CBF President; Bishop Bernhard Hasselberger, President of the Administrative Committee;  Monsignor Juan Usma, PCPCU; and Mr Holger Sichler, Treasurer; together with delegates appointed to represent the seven different regions of the CBF: Archbishop Jacinto Bergman (Latin America); Mr Francis Daoust (North America); Revd Sister Yara Matta (Middle East); Bishop Mathieu Madega, (Africa, currently Moderator of the Executive Committee); Revd Seamus O’Connell (Europe); Revd John Antony Jesu Sagaya (Asia); Bishop David Walker (Oceania). The Executive Committee also includes three delegates elected from among associated members: Revd Dario Bergliaffa, SSP; Revd Alvin Peter Fernando and Revd Xene Sanchez. The General Secretary, Revd Jan Stefanow, SVD, also attended.