Emmetten, Switzerland, July 14-20, 1990


The first meeting of the fourth phase of the Roman Catholic/Pentecostal Dialogue was held in Emmetten, Switzerland July 14-20, 1990, at the SPM - Heimstätte, the headquarters of the Swiss Pentecostal Mission. The meeting was co-sponsored by the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and some Classical Pentecostal Churches and leaders. The participants were officially welcomed to SPM Heimstätte by its director, Rev. Jakob Zopfi, Secretary of the Pentecostal World Conference, an officer in the Pentecostal European Fellowship, and President of the Swiss Pentecostal Mission.

The general topic chosen for this phase of the dialogue is evangelization. The dialogue partners are striving to explore the meaning of the Mission Mandate of the Lord for His Church. Theological position papers were presented by Dr. Gary B. McGee, Professor of Church History (Assemblies of God Theological Seminary, Springfield, Missouri, U.S.A.) for the Pentecostal side; and P. Karl Müller, S.V.D., Director of the Missiological Institute, (St. Augustin, West Germany) for the Catholic side. Future sessions will explore further implications of the central theme. The week's intensive study and discussion concluded with a joint prayer service.

Serving as co-chairmen were Rev. Kilian McDonnell, O.S.B. (St. John's University, Collegeville, Minnesota, U.S.A.) and Rev Justus du Plessis (Apostolic Faith Mission, Faerie Glen, Republic of South Africa).

Official delegates sent to the dialogue from the Pentecostal side included Dr. François Möller, (Apostolic Faith Mission, Auckland Park, Republic of South Africa); Rev. Japie Lapoorta, (Apostolic Faith Mission, Kuilsrivier, Republic of South Africa), and Rev. Coleman Phillips (International Church of the Foursquare Gospel, Escondido, California, U.S.A.).

Other Pentecostal participants included: Dr. Cecil M. Robeck, Jr. (Assemblies of God, Pasadena, California, U.S.A.); Dr. Jerry L. Sandidge, co- secretary (Assemblies of God, Springfield, Missouri, U.S.A.); Dr. Howard Ervin (American Baptist Church, Tulsa, Oklahoma, V.S.A.); Dr. Miroslav Volf (Yugoslavian Pentecostal Church, Osijek, Yugoslavia), Dr. Ronald Kydd (Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada, Keene, Ontario, Canada), and Dr. Del Tarr (Assemblies of God, Fresno, California, U.S.A.).

Other Roman Catholic participants included Msgr. John A. Radano, (Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican City); Revd. Dr. Heinz-Albert Raem, co-secretary (Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican City); Prof. Hervé Legrand, O.P. (Institut Catholique, Paris, France); Rev, Fr. Raniero Cantalamessa, O.F.M. Cap., (Milan, Italy); Rev. John C. Haughey, S.J. (St. Peter's Catholic Church, Charlotte, North Carolina, V.S.A.); Rev. John Redford, (Erith, Kent, England); Sr. Helen Rolfson, O.S.F. (St. John's University, Collegeville, Minnesota, U.S.A.).


[Information Service 75 (1990/IV) 168]