Tillard Chair: Lecture of Sister Nathalie Becquart, Under‒Secretary of Synod of Bishops

15 Oct 2021

Reverend Sister Nathalie Becquart, XMCJ, Under‒Secretary of the Synod of Bishops, delivered the sixth lecture of the 2021 “Tillard Chair” on Friday 22 October 2021.

The lecture, entitled “Primacy, Collegiality, Synodality. The Experience of the Synod of Bishops” was held from 5.30‒7.00 pm at the Angelicum (Aula Magna) and is also available on the Youtube channel of the Angelicum.

The cycle of lectures of the 2021 Tillard Chair on the theme “Walking Together. Synodality and Christian Unity” is jointly organized by the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and the Institute of Ecumenical Studies of the Angelicum.

The previous speakers of the 2021 Tillard Chair have been: Archbishop Khajag Barsamian, Representative of the Armenian Apostolic Church to the Holy See; Deacon Alessandra Trotta, Moderator of the Waldensian Table; His Grace Rowan Williams, Emeritus Archbishop of Canterbury; Bishop Giacomo Morandi, Secretary of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith; and Reverend Dr Martin Junge, former Secretary General of the Lutheran World Federation.

Forthcoming speakers will be: Professor Myriam Wijlens, Universität Erfurt, Germany; Professor Marcus Plested, Marquette University, USA; Cardinal Francesco Coccopalmerio, Emeritus President of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts; Revd Professor Patriciu Vlaicu, Facultatea de Teologie Orthodoxã Cluj-Napoca, Romania; Professor Barbara Hallensleben, Faculté de théologie de Fribourg, Switzerland; Professor Arnaud Join-Lambert, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium; Revd Professor Benoit-Dominique de La Soujeole, OP, Faculté de théologie de Fribourg, Switzerland.

The "Tillard Chair" dedicated to ecumenism was inaugurated in 2003 by Cardinal Walter Kasper at the Angelicum in honour of the renowned theologian and ecumenist, Jean-Marie Tillard, OP (1927-2000).